Quantcast

Too Hard to Forget by Tessa Bailey…Release Blitz

TOO HARD TO FORGET

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: TOO HARD TO FORGET
Author: Tessa Bailey
Series: Romancing The Clarksons, #3
On Sale: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD
Add to Goodreads

The third book in New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey’s Romancing the Clarksons series about four siblings on a cross-country road trip, perfect for fans of Gena Showalter and Julie James!

This time, she’s calling the shots.

Peggy Clarkson is returning to her alma mater with one goal in mind: confront Elliott Brooks, the man who ruined her for all others, and remind him of what he’s been missing. Even after three years, seeing him again is like a punch in the gut, but Peggy’s determined to stick to her plan. Maybe then, once she has the upper hand, she’ll finally be able to move on.

In the years since Peggy left Cincinnati, Elliott has kept his focus on football. No distractions and no complications. But when Peggy walks back onto his practice field and into his life, he knows she could unravel everything in his carefully controlled world. Because the girl who was hard to forget is now a woman impossible to resist.

BUY THE BOOK HERE

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Books-A-Million
Google Play
iBooks
Indiebound
Kobo

Too Hard to Forget is the third book in this series and is Peggy’s story. I have to confess that I wasn’t real excited to read Peggy’s book in this series. Peggy had been my least favorite character up to this point. However, my feelings have done a complete 180. This is my favorite book so far in this series.

Too Hard to Forget is a story full of angst, regret, heartache, hope and second chances. And I loved how Tessa wrote Peggy and Elliot’s story. There is a lot of angst – ALOT! But it’s so damn good and works perfectly for this story. I went back and forth from cheering them on to rooting for Peggy for standing up for herself.

Let me back up and explain why I didn’t care for Peggy before reading this book. Peggy from all outside appearances is the perfect cheerleader who gets what she wants and walked away from great people because she was selfish. Yea – I could not have been more wrong about her. And this is what I love about this book. Tessa was able to make me go from loathing a character to absolutely loving and wanting to protect her. Peggy is something else – as her mother put – she is a Rubix Cube.

Back to the book. As much as I wanted these two to get their HEA, I was so happy to see Peggy find her confidence and realize she deserved so much more from a man. She is worth more than he was willing to give. But it was when she realized this, that he also realized he was losing the best thing in life, for a second time. And I won’t give you any more than that because the reasons behind everything is what makes this story so good.

Tessa wrote a beautiful story. I told Jillian (co-blogger) that the best part of this book was the journey. I won’t go into details but Peggy and Elliott’s path is one filled with a lot of curves, potholes and unsuspecting left and right turns. And it just makes the whole story that much more entertaining.

What I am trying to say is go read this damn book. It is in a series. Do you need to read the others to understand Peggy’s story, no. Should you read them in order – if you want the full effect, yes. Because there are snippets of each siblings story embedded in the previous books that it gives you glimpses of what is to come. But it is not necessary.

Ok – now go read!!!

EXCERPT

 

“I don’t know, Peggy.” He whirled on her, closing in until she was forced back onto the desk. “I had an All-American on my squad this morning and now I don’t. That’s all I know.” He pointed a finger toward the window. “I solve problems down on the field. Saving people isn’t my job.”
Saving people. God, there was such a wealth of regret and pain in those two words. But he couldn’t hear it and she couldn’t address it. Letting him know she saw right through his façade to the hurt beneath might force Elliott to close himself off. “You didn’t always limit yourself. Why are you doing it now?”
“Accepting things that can’t be changed isn’t a limitation. It’s realistic.”
“But how will you know if something can’t be changed unless you try?”
“When it comes to certain things, Peggy, trying leads to losing.” He was in her face now, the mint from his toothpaste familiar and inviting where it slid over her lips. “And I don’t lose.”
No one ever stood up this man but her, and she wouldn’t be cowed now. “No? You’re out a receiver.” She hitched herself up on his desk. “I’d call that a loss.”
The tips of his shoes met Peggy’s, his hands gripping the furniture on either side of her hips. “Who do you think you are, little girl? Coming into my office and telling me what I’ve done wrong?” His eyes were brilliant in their vexation, the attraction he was trying so hard to fight. “Where do you get the goddamn bravery?”
“The bravery is what you liked best about me,” she breathed, heat sizzling in a downward V toward her thighs. “Isn’t it?”
“No. That bravery is what almost led to my downfall.” His hands found her bottom, jerking her to the edge of the desk. “I resented it. Still do.”
“Liar,” Peggy whispered, easing her thighs wider. “You’re dying for an excuse to head for another downfall.” When her legs were as open as she could spread them, she leaned up to Elliott’s ear and let her breath shake loose. “One thrust.”
Elliott’s right hand came up out of nowhere, molding over Peggy’s mouth as his hips crowded into the notch of her legs. With a quick maneuver to recline her halfway back, Elliott’s erection found the apex of her thighs, delivering an aggressive pump against her underwear that sent a scream climbing up Peggy’s throat, only to be trapped by his hand. Knees jerking up out of reflex over the rush of sensation, an orgasm almost—almost— broke past the surface, sending her waters rippling out on all sides. Her legs wanted to hug Elliott’s waist, her voice wanted to beg for one more, one more, one more, but he shook his head, denying her, even though his gaze was hot, a low groan issuing from his harshly masculine mouth.
He leaned in and nipped the lobe of her ear. “Next time, ask for two.”

DREAM CAST

For the record, this is SO HARD. For the Romancing the Clarksons series especially, I have a specific image in my mind for each character and none of them match an actor/actress perfectly. So I am going to take Elsa’s advice and Let it Go (let go of the images in my head, that is). Enough rambling! Here is my dream cast (the main characters, anyway) for TOO HARD TO FORGET!

Coach Elliott Brooks: Jon Hamm. Now, I’m not talking about suave Don Draper. If Jon is going to pull off my hard-ass football coach, he’s going to need some scruff and a bad attitude. There was an episode of Mad Men where Jon went juuuuust the right amount of dominant and that’s what makes him my Elliott.

Peggy Clarkson: Ashley Greene. This one is a little easier. I think Ashley Greene is incredibly beautiful and she could also pull off Peggy’s devil-may-care flirtatious presence, while still guarding secrets with her eyes.

Kyler Tate: Christian McCaffrey. Okay, so he’s not an actor. He plays for the Broncos. But he has the perfect sexy charmer smile and a ton of charisma. I would pay for his acting classes myself!

Alice Brooks: Kiernan Shipka. Might as well stick with a Mad Men theme, right? She already played Don Draper’s daughter (Sally Draper) and can exude angst like nobody’s business, so she’s a great choice for Alice!

THE ROMANCING THE CLARKSONS SERIES

TOO HOT TO HANDLE, #1
TOO WILD TO TAME, #2
TOO HARD TO FORGET, #3
TOO BEAUTIFUL TO BREAK, #4

Series Page on Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

Tessa Bailey is originally from Carlsbad, California. The day after high school graduation, she packed her yearbook, ripped jeans, and laptop, and drove cross-country to New York City in under four days. Her most valuable life experiences were learned thereafter while waitressing at K-Dees, a Manhattan pub owned by her uncle. Inside those four walls, she met her husband, best friend, and discovered the magic of classic rock, managing to put herself through Kingsborough Community College and the English program at Pace University at the same time. Several stunted attempts to enter the work force as a journalist followed, but romance writing continued to demand her attention.

She now lives in Long Island, New York with her husband and daughter. Although she is severely sleep-deprived, she is incredibly happy to be living her dream of writing about people falling in love.

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads

FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest

RAFFLECOPTER

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. Kathy Valentine says:

    Awesome review court!!!,its sounds like a hot sexy read!!! ,shared on all my socials!!!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: