Quantcast

ARC Review….Midnight Lies by Ella Grace

Midnight Lies releases September 24

Midnight Lies COVER

Book links:

Amazon  ~  Barnes & Noble  ~  Goodreads

Synopsis:

The Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.

IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.

The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.

Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough façade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.

 

My review:

Midnight Lies is the second book in Ella Grace’s Wildefire Series.  After loving the first book, Midnight Secrets, I was anxious to get my hands on this book and I was not disappointed!

As a homicide detective with the Atlanta police department with a sexy M.D. boyfriend, Samantha Wilde is pretty content with her life.  She knows Quinn isn’t looking for more than what they share now…and for the time being they are sharing some great times and equally great chemistry.  She can’t blame him after hearing about the nasty divorce he’s dealt with.  Besides, thanks to her parents’ murders, she always lingering doubts about the true nature of people.  Now, just when Sam is feeling pretty good about things, life throws a curveball.  Quinn has just been accused of his ex-wife’s murder and instantly she is thrown back into the past and the memories of being a young girl thinking her father was a murderer.  All of those trust issues are now threatening to destroy the relationship between her and Quinn.  Is he capable of murder? Does anyone really know everything about a person?

A lot of factors have gone into making Quinn Braddock the man he is today…and not all of them good.  After years in the Army as a medic and trying to ignore his painful past, he finally feels like he is where he should be.  He loves being an emergency room doctor and after a failed marriage, he finally is enjoying the company of a fantastic woman.  Life finally seems to be agreeing with him until he’s charged with the violent murder of his ex-wife.  Luckily, the walls he’s built up through the years prove to serve him some good as he tries to hide the hurt with the suspicion from Sam.  Doesn’t she know he would never hurt anyone? Why was she so quick to doubt him?

Sam finds solace in the rooms of her childhood home and the streets of her hometown.  Even though Quinn is innocent until proven guilty, her foundation has been shaken and she no longer feels confident in herself and her judge of character.  Just when she thinks she can start making a fresh start in Midnight, Quinn shows up and turns her entire world upsidedown….again.

Talk about a thrill ride!  This book started out with a bang and the hits kept coming until the very end.  What a fantastic experience.  Sam is soft at heart with a tough exterior who’s been hurt far beyond what most can imagine and she just can’t shake it.  Quinn is an amazing hero.  He’s had a really rough go of things and tries so hard to still believe in the good in people even though it seems he’s let down at every turn.  Together, the push and pull between them is so intense and emotional.  It went between heartbreaking and heartwarming and had such highs and lows and was truly a growing experience for both of them.  Meanwhile, the murder mystery and who done it had me guessing until the last few chapters….when the “aha!” moment came, I literally yelled “I KNEW IT!”. It was a real nail-biter until the very end.  It was so great to be back in Midnight and see what the Wilde sisters were up to and get back with the familiar characters.  I can’t wait to see what Ella has in store for us and Bri, the other Wilde sister, because she has definitely built up some juicy mystery surrounding her!

Thank you, Ms. Grace, for another delicious, scandalous, mysterious visit in Midnight….I look forward to see what’s next for the Wildefire Series!

4LovesRLBFour Loves

 

About the author:

Writing a biography, short or long, can be daunting. I’m so used to writing about fictional characters, I’d love to embellish and tell you about the amazing feats I’ve accomplished. Alas, as Popeye would say, “I am what I am.”

I grew up in the Deep South, went to a small school, in a small town. Everyone knew everyone and though I had friends, my best friends were my books. Reading was almost as necessary to me as breathing. Without those glorious hours of entertainment they provided each day, who knows what kind of trouble I might have gotten into.

After living in various states, I’m now back in Alabama, where most of my family still resides. I have a wonderful, incredibly supportive husband who believes in me. How I was so fortunate to snag him, I truly do not know. Along with my hubby, I live with five fur-kids. Having five dogs definitely keeps us hopping. The noise quotient is often beyond what’s bearable but the unconditional love these wonderful creatures give makes up for that. In addition to the fur-kids, we have a turtle named Turdie Joe who is, as you might guess, the quietest member of the family.

Since writing takes up a huge part of my life, my hobbies are somewhat narrow. I love to read, of course, make the occasional meal, go to movies, take long walks and travel when possible.

Creating characters in my head has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. The need to get these characters and their stories on paper only started a few years ago. Once I started, I didn’t want to stop. Having a successful career as Christy Reece was a dream come true. And now, writing as Ella Grace, too, my life couldn’t be more exciting or fulfilling.

 

Goodreads  ~  Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Website 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: